Saturday, January 28, 2006

New Year just lurking round the corner

It's that time of year again.
Little children (& singles) look forward to.
But once you're married, the joy gets cut down to half.

Aww syucks.
Giving ang pows isn't as fun as getting - especially when you've a tight budget.
It's kind of embarrasing give small amounts of $$ in that nice red shiny packet to eager looking eyes.

Well, we got to start somewhere and I belive in low expectations. It's lovelier to get more than expected the following year.

What I really like most about Chinese New Year is the quietness of it all. I enjoy knowing the fact that I'm a minority left behind in the city with tons of people crawling out back to their home towns. It's great to know that the roads will have less cars. I enjoy the holiday and people getting together and smiling..

This year is a new kind of new year. I'm not living in my home..but in my husband's home. And he's never been in town before during the new year. It means that I have the choice to just stay @ home and not having to meet familiar strangers at all.. such temptation! Alas, my task this year is to meet familiar strangers and make more acquaintances..oh well.

Gong Xi Fa Cai

Saturday, January 21, 2006

Lost Friends

Have you ever had that feeling that you're losing friends?

I do.

My friends don't seem to want to keep in touch with me.

Erm..so am I paranoid?

I don't get yum char calls. If ever I do, it's me calling.
I don't get 'let's meet up' calls.
Shall we go shopping?

But then again, I'm not such a social chic.

So why this impression?

Because I see that my husband's friends keep in touch. They call each other to go out for drinks and food. Occassionally they try to get everyone to meet up.

And I see that lacking in my life.

Am I such a terrible friend to have?

Or did I choose friends that are like me? Complacent..I'm not bothered to call if no one calls..

Or have we drifted apart? Found new friends, enjoying the company of our boyfriends more?

Friday, January 20, 2006

Another weekend

I really don't like studying for exams anymore.
They give you the most boring materials.

Why can't they give you more intersting stuff to read for exams?
I had so much problems paying attention to the book.

And my exam is less than 24 hours away. Sigh.
I hope I pass. I don't want a resit.
I still can't bring myself to study

Too many distractions.